About AWS EC2 performance - beam.smp high cpu usage

Hi all, I’m new to the forum and also new to erlang.

Let’s see if anyone can help me!

I have a web application running with OTP 21 (Chicagoboss) using docker swarm. When I run this application on my local machine, its processing consumption is very low. However, when I run the same docker on an EC2 t3a.xlarge server the consumption is very high, exceeding 100% CPU usage at all times.

I tried to add some parameters in vm.args

+sbwt none
+sbwtdcpu none
+sbwtdio none
+sfwi 0
+scl false
-smp

This had little effect. This application is 90% idle, and occasionally processes something that arrives using a crontab library.

The process that consumes processing is beam.smp.

Do you have an explanation for this behavior?

Thanks!

5 Likes

I am not an expert of EC2, but can you describe some more details about you application ? What kind of database are you using? Mnesia or other DBs?

3 Likes

-sfwi 0 has no effect, and it’s also the default.
I think -smp also has no effect for OTP 21.

I think that +scl false should not be used either (although it likely to have little to no effect for your case).

Next step to understand what the VM is doing requires a remote shell (remsh). I don’t have any experience with Chicagoboss, but there should be some way to use erl -remsh node@yourhost. Within that shell you can try listing running processes, and use process_info to see their reductions, or use msacc:start(1000), msacc:print(). to view microstate accounting information.

Alternative is to use etop (Erlang top) within that shell.

4 Likes

Hi, thanks for replying!

About the application.