Asn1ct support for non-ascii files? Attempting to compile some TCAP-MAP ASN.1 files resulting in error

Hi.
I am brand new to Erlang, and wanted to test the ASN.1 environment provided through the compiler asn1ct. I am currently giving an attempt at compiling some files from the telecom TCAP-MAP ASN.1 specification, but am facing straight errors with what would look apparently as file encoding issues.

In short, here is an example of an error I am facing:

Erlang/OTP 25 [erts-13.0.2] [source] [64-bit] [smp:8:8] [ds:8:8:10] [async-threads:1] [jit:ns]

Eshell V13.0.2  (abort with ^G)
1> asn1ct:compile("MAP-CommonDataTypes.asn", [ber, verbose]).                                                        
Erlang ASN.1 compiler 5.0.19
Compiling: "MAP-CommonDataTypes.asn"
Options: [ber,verbose,{i,"."}]
MAP-CommonDataTypes.asn:300: syntax error before: 'Â'
{error,[{structured_error,{"MAP-CommonDataTypes.asn",300},
                          asn1ct_parser2,
                          {syntax_error,'Â'}}]}

Those ASN.1 files are visible here: https://github.com/P1sec/pycrate/tree/master/pycrate_asn1dir/Pycrate_TCAP_MAP/. They have nothing really special, are standard ASN.1 files, may contained some non-ASCII / UTF-8 characters in comments, but I expect this should not bring any issue to the compiler.

With the error provided by Erlang, I fail to understand if the error corresponds to a line or character number, neither can I spot any  character in the file from my terminal or any standard editor. Moreover, the corresponding hex codepoint 0xC382 does not exist in this file. I am using a recent Ubuntu system with a default terminal and environment config (LANG=en_US.UTF-8).

Any help of feedback will be really appreciated.
Thanks.

1 Like

For reference you could compare with this working project: github.com/sigscale/map

3 Likes