Atomvm for ADC ESP32

Hello @Winford , I was trying to use atomvm_adc but it turns out that all its functions were deprecated for versions higher than 5 of the espressif sdk, so I took a while to make a new compatible nif, I am new to this, I have just learned how to use it, I did a nif for nerves but it was easier. I need to include documentation and examples of use. But I have this error when compiling, let’s see if you can help me.

This is the repository. GitHub - joserp93/atomvm_adc

error:

Linking CXX executable atomvm-esp32.elf
/Users/joserodriguez/.espressif/tools/xtensa-esp-elf/esp-13.2.0_20230928/xtensa-esp-elf/bin/../lib/gcc/xtensa-esp-elf/13.2.0/../../../../xtensa-esp-elf/bin/ld: unrecognized option '--whole-archive /Users/joserodriguez/atomvm/atomvm-v0.6.0/src/platforms/esp32/build/esp-idf/atomvm_adc/libatomvm_adc.a -Wl'
/Users/joserodriguez/.espressif/tools/xtensa-esp-elf/esp-13.2.0_20230928/xtensa-esp-elf/bin/../lib/gcc/xtensa-esp-elf/13.2.0/../../../../xtensa-esp-elf/bin/ld: use the --help option for usage information
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [atomvm-esp32.elf] Error 1
make[1]: *** [CMakeFiles/atomvm-esp32.elf.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2

This is the repository. GitHub - joserp93/atomvm_adc

Hello, is this Fred’s codebase?

Hi, Yes, I took Fred’s code as a base.

So before I go digging to deep, let me be sure I understand what you are doing. Is this code for IDF v5.x compatibility?

That’s right, I read the IDF v5.x documentation and made it compatible.

Take a look at atomvm_adc/CMakeLists.txt at master · atomvm/atomvm_adc · GitHub

You might need to update the LINK_OPTIONS arguments, try:

LINK_OPTIONS "-Wl,--whole-archive;${CMAKE_CURRENT_BINARY_DIR}/lib${COMPONENT_NAME}.a;-Wl,--no-whole-archive"

If you get it to work on IDF v5.x, I’d suggest you create a PR to the official repo instead.

1 Like

I don’t have access to push the new branch.