Build It With Nitrogen Help

Hi, I am working through the sample chapter and am stuck on the following instructions on page 11:

…$ git clone git://github.com/nitrogen/nitrogen
…$ cd nitrogen
…/nitrogen$ make rel_inets PROJECT=testproj

This is what happens when I attempt to do that:

C:\Users\foobar>e:
E:>cd nitrogen
E:\nitrogen>make rel_inets PROJECT=testproj
make[1]: Entering directory ‘/e/nitrogen’
./rebar get-deps
/usr/bin/env: ‘escript’: No such file or directory
make[1]: *** [Makefile:40: get-deps] Error 127
make[1]: Leaving directory ‘/e/nitrogen’
make: *** [Makefile:104: rel_inets] Error 2

I am brand new to Erlang so I have no idea what it is talking about when it refers to

escript

. any ideas?

6 Likes

Welcome @Ookma-Kyi !

escript is a program that comes with Erlang that allows you to run Erlang scripts.

It might be that the makefile provided by Nitrogen there does not work on Windows. I’m not super familiar with Windows scripting but that path in the error message doesn’t look correct to me.

2 Likes

Firstly, I hope you have erlang installed on your system. Secondly, if erlang is installed, then, it seems the erlang escript is not in the $PATH environment variable. From the snipped you have shared you seem to be using windows and I’m not sure about setting the environment variable but have a look at this please.

2 Likes

I added the escript directory to the path and it seemed to be going well at first, but sadly it failed in the end:

E:\nitrogen>make rel_inets PROJECT=testproj
make[1]: Entering directory ‘/e/nitrogen’
./rebar get-deps
==> rel (get-deps)
==> nitrogen (get-deps)
./rebar compile
==> rel (compile)
==> nitrogen (compile)
make[2]: Entering directory ‘/e/nitrogen’
make[2]: Leaving directory ‘/e/nitrogen’

Creating full release in …/testproj with inets

make[2]: Entering directory ‘/e/nitrogen’
make[3]: Entering directory ‘/e/nitrogen’
==> rel (generate)
Copying e:/Program Files/erl-23.0/lib/erl_interface-4.0