How did you solve the problem of cross daylight saving timer?

Hello erlang community,
I am a game developer, and our game servers are deployed around the world. However, our system has a timer failure issue after switching to daylight saving time, so how can we solve this problem?
example

erlang:send_after(now() + 15*60*1000,self(),start),
now()  ->
    {M, S, _} = os:timestamp(),
    M * 1000000 + S.

Hi @emmm

I also have the same question. However here is Periodic sending a message based on clock wall time some @rickard explanation that could help you too.

Hi
Have you resolved the problem you encountered?
I may not have described it clearly, my English is not good. :sob:
For example, I started a timer today until tomorrow at 5am, but midway through daylight saving time, the timer may have timed out at 4am or 6am, which is not allowed.

Well, FWIW, erlang:send_after does exactly what it says it does: send the given message after the given number of milliseconds has ticked by. Turning the hands on your wall clock forward or backward doesn’t change that :woman_shrugging:

what you would need there is to change from a flat interval into one where you go “time until the desired wallclock time”. You would likely need a timezone library like qdate, and compute “now plus one day” (which you can do with the relative times functionality) to compute the interval between now and the relative later time, and then set a timer.

There’s even a whole date arithmetic type of function.

The moment you touch timezones, you need to start going for libraries that care about timezone database and only convert to the timers as a last step once you’ve computed everything else.

5 Likes

The important part to understand with timezones is that there’s two different sets of thinking about time.