How long have you been using Erlang?

How long have you been using/learning Erlang or another BEAM language? :upside_down_face:

Also, don’t forget to add this info to your profile too! :blush:

1 Like

9 years professionally, 13 years since the first time I’ve played with it!

4 Likes
  • Erlang/OTP: since 2008 for 13 years, first on Windows and FreeBSD, later on macOS and Ubuntu Linux.
  • Elixir: since 2014 for 7 years, but I’m still an apprentice.
4 Likes
  • Erlang: started use from 2016
  • Elixir: 6 months activity in 2018 and from time to time I’m try to continue play around.
3 Likes
  • Erlang: Started playing with it in… late 1990’s or early 2000’s somewhere, deployed my first actual project with it in the early-mid 2000’s as a single node, only experimented with multi-node in personal things basically this entire time. Primarily used it on windows and FreeBSD but moved to exclusively linux in the mid 2000’s.
  • Elixir: Played with it a tiny bit… almost ten years ago I want to say, but didn’t actually get in to it in-depth until about 7 years ago, first production project just shy of 6 years ago.
5 Likes

Professionally for over 23 years, six months longer than it’s been open source. :slight_smile:

8 Likes

I started both learning and using Erlang professionally in 2008.
Yeah, they hired me because I knew some Haskell :wink:

6 Likes

Erlang since mid 2015, was introduced to it by my then colleague Henry Thor who I don’t think is on here yet. Eternally thankful for the introduction :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Since around 2000. I’ve got a system that’s been up and running for 2 decades now, with a major rewrite around 2010.

4 Likes

Can you share some details about what kind of app/system it is please Garry? I am sure I won’t be the only one curious :blush:

2 Likes