How to build an esp32 object? I could build `generic_unix`, though

I am a newbie and followed README.md to build target.

$ mkdir build
$ cd build
$ cmake -DAVM_DISABLE_FP=on ..
$ make
$ ./src/AtomVM ./examples/erlang/hello_world.avm

I succeeded it to build src/platforms/generic_unix, but there is no esp32.

Q1: To build ESP32 object, what should I set or do to switch generic_unix to esp32?

There is esp32 folder on AtomVM/src/platforms.
README.ESP32.Md says:

cd src/platforms/esp32/
idf.py set-target esp32 (or esp32c3, esp32s2, esp32s3)
idf.py menuconfig
idf.py build

We have two src folders under AtomVM.
Q2: which folder does cd src/platforms/esp32 indicate, AtomVM/src/ or AtomVM/build/src/?

My environment:

MacOS Ventura
elixir  1.13.4-otp-23
erlang  23.2.7
gcc --version -> Apple clang version 14.0.0 (clang-1400.0.29.202)
cmake version 3.23.1
~/esp -> esp-idf/          xtensa-esp32-elf/
target: ESP32-WROOM
python 3.10.8 currently -> 2.7.18

Please help me to make an esp32 object.

2 Likes

Have a look at AtomVM/build-instructions.md at master · atomvm/AtomVM · GitHub, which should have the latest instructions.

Also, you will probably want to build a full release image, which is referenced in the same document (this requires building the Erlang and Elixir libraries and packaging them up with the AtomVM binary into a single image.

Please note that the team is also working on some CI to build images on commits to master, which should be available by the next release.

2 Likes

You should definitely follow the build-instructions that fadushin posted a link to. But to answer your question directly, the correct folder for working in for esp32 is AtomVM/src/platforms/esp32.

2 Likes

Thank you for your quick response.
I found the instruction, and I will try.

1 Like

Thanks,
So I should build under AtomVM/src/platforms/esp32, though I first have to follow the instruction @fadushin instructed.

By the way, generic_unix is for simulating AtomVM on Host, isn’t it?