Monitors and links: what happens under the hood?

Hi everyone,
I’m doing a master thesis and one of the topics I’m studying is fault tolerance in Erlang.
Specifically, I would like to deepen the two mechanisms underlying the management of fault tolerance in Erlang: monitors and links.
Looking on the internet I always find a high level description of their behavior but I would be interested in finding out what happens under the hood, in particular I would like to find out how they have been implemented, for example I would like to understand something like that:

If processes A and B are linked together, and process B crashes without emitting any signal to A. How does A notice B’s death? I suppose there is some timeout as is usually done in these cases, but how can I understand exactly what is going on in Erlang?

If anyone can help me or give me some resources that could help me find answers I would be very grateful.

Best regards, Gaetano D’Agostino

EDIT: Instead of process B crashes without emitting any signal to A I mean B dies but for some reason the EXIT signal doesn’t reach A

3 Likes

Hello!

If processes A and B are linked together, and process B crashes without emitting any signal to A.

If processes A and B are linked and B crashes, then an EXIT signal will always be sent to A from B. The reception of the EXIT signal is how process A knows that B has terminated.

There is a lot of information available in the Processes chapter of the Erlang Reference Manual about how the different signals in Erlang work.

If anything is unclear, feel free to ask more questions and I will do my best to answere.

3 Likes

Linking and monitoring are both implemented inside Erlang’s runtime system itself. In other words: outside of the ‘normal’ process-based logic you deal with in user code.
This means that Erlang is able to provide guarantees like that an exit signal will always be sent, even when a process crashed unexpectedly.