Programmer romantic - is possible to have a mobile app that controls the devices at home such as the lighting etc?

Good morning. I decided to title this topic Programmer romantic because when in love you see nothing else and nothing makes sense and I am at that semi newbee stage of learning Erlang and nothing makes sense but I love it…

Ok, I am very very very new to Erlang and a friend of mine saw me reading on of the books when I was in the coffee shop and asked a question that I have no idea how to answer. The question was if it is possible to have a mobile app that controls the devices at home such as the lighting etc. (In Erlang obviously).

Now, I have absolutely no idea (and honestly - no knowledge) of that. I am still trying to get my head around the basic syntax :blush: I have googled a bit but that went too far over my head. If someone can shed some light if it is possible or not, I can send him your responses.

Kind regards and have a fantastic weekend,
Dmitri

5 Likes

Sure, that is possible. It’s called Home automation - Wikipedia.

Obviously, it’s not enough to just write an App. Normal lights will not care. You have to replace them with anything that can be electronically turned on and off. If you want to control them with a DIY-app you need to choose something with an open protocol. And if you really want to use this in your home and you do not want to tear up your walls you should go with some RF-lights.

Phillips Hue is a popular choice and it also seems to be possible to control them with your own software, see for example: Controlling Philips HUE Lights with Raspberry PI - Domotic Project

The best home automation solution imo is KNX, which is an open standard and supported by over 500 companies (my company is also a KNX member so I’m biased). But its only worth looking into that if you really want to get serious.