Robot Simulator -Erlang Track on Exercism

Hi,
I am following the Erlang Track on Exercism and I started to solve Robot Simulator.

I believe there is something wrong with their tests but I am not sure.
Could you take a look

The repo is here: erlang/exercises/practice/robot-simulator at main · exercism/erlang · GitHub

The first test is here. It seems to me that they are treating Robot as a variable whose content can be changed by robot_simulator:place/3. Do you think so? Am I missing something?

Regards,

Adolfo

4 Likes

Hello :slight_smile: Im a newb so this might be totally wrong, but the way I would do this is make robot a process, so create would spawn a process (or an actor). That actor can have its own state (as a record or something) and then the messages to it can create new versions of that state. This means you can have state, and it can change over time, but the functions in your robot process will be functionally pure, you wont actually be modifying the state.

% in robot as a gen_server
handle_call(advance, _From, S = #state{pos=P, dir=D}) ->
  NewPosition = handle_advance(P, D),
  {noreply, S#state{pos=NewPosition}}.  % here is a new state

handle_advance({X, Y}, north) -> {X, Y + 1 };
handle_advance({X, Y}, south) -> {X, Y - 1 };

Someone please jump in and batter me if this is wrong :smiley:

5 Likes

Without giving you too much information, @phsort is right.

Robot (the variable) is supposed to be a handle for a living Robot.

There is more than one way to implement that, but the typical one is to use a process for each robot and return its Pid on robot_simulator:create/0.

If you want to be more creative, you can try implementing the robot by storing its state in an ets table… But I would recommend you to try this approach only after you had learn how to solve the issue with processes :wink:

6 Likes

Hi :slight_smile: