The EEF is looking for volunteers to take over ESL's build packages

The Build and Packaging working group at the EEF has had talks with folks at Erlang Solutions to hand this project off to the foundation, before we accept we’re looking for someone to own the project.

Becoming the owner means at least being accountable to let us know the status of it, be a point of contact for its content, and being able to triage issues and whatnot. The expectation isn’t necessarily to maintain everything, but just to be able to answer questions and provide vision for it.

If you’d like to help please let us know!

8 Likes

From the perspective of the EEF/working group, it makes sense to first ask for a owner who will then find people to take on the specific tasks, ie to fill the spots in an as yet empty shell.

What you ask for is somebody to manage an unscheduled promise. But if the other people around here are remotely like me, I guess you won’t find a match easily. I am a freelancer. I can pick the tasks I take, but if I take a task it implies a strong promise to deliver something tangible, within a deadline.

So… i think what the EEF working group needs to decide on is…

• For what OSes should packages be provided;
    that doesn’t have to be all at once and fixed forever, more like a priorities-and-wishes list;
    as people were asking mostly about packages for Ubuntu jammy, that should rank high
  • What range of OTP releases should packages be made available;
    ESL provides packages down to R13 for some OSes, that isn IMO overkill;
    the latest versions of the latest minor releases of the actively supported releases are IMO enough;
    the latest versions of the latest major releases of the actively supported releases are probably enough