Unexpected total_heap_size increase

Hello,

I am a game developer, and we have a process where many game configuration are converted into Erlang files, compiled, and then hot-updated to the prod environment. We have a monitoring process on the server that periodically checks for processes with consistently high total_heap_size. We have noticed that sometimes, after hot-updating the configuration files, the total_heap_size of certain active processes suddenly becomes very high, around 50MB to 60MB, and this value is the same across all server nodes. I have confirmed that the affected processes are not making any calls to these hot-updated files. The total_heap_size only decreases when we manually invoke “erlang:garbage_collect/1” on them; otherwise, they continue to maintain the same size of total_heap_size. This phenomenon has left me puzzled. Can you please advise on how we can locate and resolve this issue?

2 Likes

Hi,

I think we need a little more information. Some initial questions I myself have :

1. This sounds like you have some config (maybe yaml, json, etc) and you convert into erlang terms baked into an erlang module, is that correct?

2. What size are these active processes prior to code reload?

3. Would there be interactions between other processes and said active processes when new config is put in place? Perhaps, the active processes which see in increase in heap size get a messages at this time with decent sized data (doesn’t have to be large!)?

4. The active processes effected do not touch the files directly, but would they be referencing any of the terms provided by config modules?

1 Like
  1. Yes, we will convert each category of game parameter configuration into an Erlang record and create a separate Erlang file. For example (cfg_a.erl):

-module(cfg_a).
-include(“cfg_a.hrl”).
-export([get/1]).
get(1) → #aCfg{id=1,p1=x1,p2=y1,p3=z1};
get(2) → #aCfg{id=2,p1=x2,p2=y2,p3=z2}.