Your point of view on DevOps in pure Erlang/OTP world

I’m very curious if anyone here developed highly scalable web applications/APIs in pure Erlang/OTP and if their DevOp portion of their work is different from running dockerized applications within Kubernetes. My newbie point of view is that, Erlang/OTP provides distribution, and networking out of the box, unless there is major security issues, I wouldn’t complicated it with docker and k8s. Could someone shine some light into my confusion here?

3 Likes

Hello,
I have no professional experience but the book Adopting Erlang suggests it in it’s production section.

3 Likes

From mentioned link I gave my thinking here, again I might be wrong as Im still a newbie in Erlang/OTP.

Kubernetes provides a scheduler for efficiently packing your programs, 
as containers, on physical or virtual machines.

I disagree as a positive point: we got releases for packaging and could use versioning for consistency across multiple machines, and it is unfair to k8s to say ‘on physical or virtual machine’ the whole idea is to abstract from that; and… Erlang/OTP could run in various env as well.

Using containers eases deployment by bundling all dependencies (think OpenSSL in an Erlang 
release’s case) into a single image and isolation that protects against dependency conflicts between
services running on a machine.

Again: I could have multiple clusters on one machine, and why do I need to use multiple version of the same tool/lib/languages on one machine… doesn’t make sense in Erlang or at least I could avoid that. Yes if I had legacy Python 2.7 and Python 3.7 codebase maybe… but still not a good practice to follow anyway.

Additionally, deployment and management becomes consistent across the services in your production 
environment no matter the language or runtime they are built with. When you integrate your Erlang
service with common monitoring and tracing services, you will also ensure it’s no longer the oddball