Erlang and jobs in South Africa - all require a degree

Good morning all. As I am still learning, I just did a quick Google search for jobs. I am far away from having enough knowledge for a job, but what caught my eye is not reassuring (for me). All the jobs that I have search (especially here in South Africa) is that they all require a degree or Masters in Computer Science.

Now I am learning this at age 55. My question here is this:

Should I carry on learning Erlang / OTP (and I am really enjoying it), or should I just call it a day. Financially and time wise I cannot invest in a degree from a learning institution.

Kind regards,
Dmitri

2 Likes

Personally I am a huge fan of following your passion - we generally excel at the things we enjoy, and besides, life’s too short to be spending time working on things you don’t enjoy or don’t leave you feeling fulfilled and content.

I know that’s a lot easier said than done tho, but if you can sustain yourself financially then there’s no reason why you can’t learn to program - so many programmers are self taught. IIRC, even Robert Virding is, and he’s one of the creators of Erlang and a whole host of other languages :003:

If you do decide to go down this path, whatever language you learn will help with whatever language you end up using - so I’d start with whichever one feels easier or the one you’re most passionate about :023:

4 Likes

I know that Fastcomm in South Africa runs elixir/Erlang for some parts of their systems.

3 Likes

Thanks Taure. I am still learning Erlang. At the moment I just have enough knowledge to be dangerous :slight_smile: but I have bookmarked their site.

Appreciate the feedback

2 Likes

Hi,