Erlang io-uring support

Speaking of fast connections, has there been anything looked in to for the io-uring linux interfaces (falling back to the old methods on older kernels)? It’s been shown to have quite some advantages in a lot of contexts over traditional patterns. I’ve been using it (outside erlang) for a few months now and it is quite nice when trying to eek out performance when the I/O interface actually becomes a bottleneck (can have much fewer syscalls!).

7 Likes

We have looked at it and realized that it is a lot of work to get done. I’m sure we’ll get around to it eventually, but not any time soon.

4 Likes

Yeah that it is, it is a significant change from the older API’s, and not always worth it for some work (though not worse by any stretch), but it definitely is a lot faster in some things (especially multi-waits).

Even just a low level binding exposing it could be useful though.

3 Likes

We did too, as it closely reminds FreeBSD’s kqueue. But one of the major benefits with io_uring is to also avoid extra read/write syscalls, and integrating this into ERTS appears to be challenging.

2 Likes

I’ll just stay on FreeBSD :wink:

Yes in theory io_uring could be faster than kqueue. But comparing this is easily driving into apples and oranges area.

But for all who care about this kind of IO performance: move to FreeBSD today, kqueues are supported by Erlang since a long time and are well tested and around for long. Will not get started with other FreeBSD advantages to avoid this degrading into a Linux/BSD flamewar.

Its just about being pragmatic: there is a choice available today which will improve your performance vs. some feature which might be coming later if at all (since it doesn’t fit nicely to ERTS).